Organic Kombucha

Kombucha Tea, Cultures, Benefits and Hazards

How much Kombucha Should I drink? February 3, 2009

Filed under: vanessa — dlindy2730 @ 2:32 pm
Tags: , ,

How much Kombucha should I drink? Is a bottle from the store ok to drink in its entirety in one sitting? The answer to this and all of these questions delivered to you right after this commercial break…

Today’s Kombucha blog posting is brought to you by “Water”. Water America’s favorite past time is now available in all sorts of flavors. Trick your kids into thinking they are drinking something unhealthy! Water, Yum! Available for free or be silly and pay for it!

Ok were back! So…how much kombucha should you drink? I can’t actually answer that because, well, it depends on your body. Anytime you introduce something new to your system you should do so gradually. I ignored this when I first started drinking kombucha and in the interest of letting you finish your lunch today…I got “the runs”. Some people are even allergic to Kombucha although a small percentage. I would recommend having no more than a 4oz glass of kombucha upon first introducing it to your system. You can then gradually increase the amount having no more then around 32oz in a day. It took me about a month or two to allow my body to get acquainted with kombucha, now I’m drinking it like “Water”. I’m drinking plenty of water too though, it’s always important to never abandon our old friend H20, no supplement or health drink will ever replace drinking lots of water. It’s every important to always stay hydrated. Kombucha tea is amazing, I won’t let you say i’m telling you it’s not! I won’t! BUT let’s also drink water!

 

18 Responses to “How much Kombucha Should I drink?”

  1. Linda Says:

    I love all of Dave’s information and the video he sent that would not let me reply to. Keep up your fantastic work, it is much appreciated.
    Linda

  2. carl Says:

    hi
    its better than water .i drink as much as i can get . a qt a day or so is just great with me started with only making a gallon at a time now i have 4 or 5 gallons going do i feel great no i FEEL GREAT GREAT k/t will heal so sorry about all my near friends who think i flipped my wig which i realy dont have .trying to help friends who are sick with one thing or more. just wont try something that would help them back to health. they would rather buy from the FDA sad world when grown men snear at a drink of HEALTH
    AGAIN THANKS MUCH CARL

  3. mazzer Says:

    have others out there had experience of drinking the magic mushroom drink whilst fighting candid yeast infection ??
    cos I have it bad right now and wonder if K is contributing to aggravation??

  4. francois Says:

    thank you for your honesty, yes kombuchka is great but you don’t want to over do it .
    common sens yeah, but if you don’t follow your body answer you can have a fermentation answer, which is not cute!
    half a glass per day for me it’s enough , like with yaourt, my body will be a mess i over do it, it a fermented food, so friut vegetable and plenty of water , when you drink it!
    francois

  5. jaymoxley Says:

    Hey Dave, what would be some symptoms of over indulging?

    • Jill Says:

      The experience of myself and friends of mine who also brew is that too much kombucha results in feeling nauseated. When this happens I (and friends) drink more water and cut back a little on the K tea. I found myself feeling nauseated off and on during the first month or two of drinking it, but I am not sure if that is because I was drinking too much at first, OR if it was a detox symptom. Either way, drinking more water counter acts the nausea (plus kombucha seems to have a diuretic effect, which means you need to drink extra water with it anyway).

  6. Rahn A. Stephens Says:

    HEY DAVE, ONE OF MY CUSTOMERS WAS SAYING SHE COULD NOT DRINK MY KOMBUCHA BECAUSE SHE IS ALLERGIC TO HIBISCUS. So I just made her a special batch that has no hibiscus.

  7. mommyx9 Says:

    Hey Dave, my “littles” (18 months and 3 yrs old) can’t get enough kombucha. The olders and I all drink it in moderation, but those two always want MORE. Think there’s something missing in their diet? Or it’s just yummy?

  8. catherine cury Says:

    Hello

    I am a crazy busy mother of two wonderful little boys. Months ago I bought your large size ceramic kombucha brewing kit. It has sat in my garage totally unused since it came in the mail. My question is ” Do you have a video giving lessons on brewing my own kombucha or some very direct instructions on using this fabulous ceramic brewing kit. My poor mushroom has been sitting in the fridge since the day it arrived…….I assume that it has “died?” Can I order another from you? I truly regret my delay in learning to make my own kombucha……but the time HAS COME!

    Thank You
    A Frazzled Mommy

  9. Marianne Says:

    Hi Dave,
    I started brewing Kombucha last year and bought the Continuous Brewing System in January this year. It took me a few batches to get it right but now I make better KT than I have ever bought. I drink about 12-16 oz per day-4 oz in the morning and the rest throughout the day. I feel incredible when I start my day with it and blah when I don’t. And you are right in saying that it’s still important to drink plenty of h2o-it seems to work in synchronicity with the KT. Sometimes I add an oz of goji and acai berry juice and it doesn’t get much better than this

  10. Dani Says:

    I like to brew my K-T pretty strong and just leave it in the crock on the counter, and then when I want some water, I put a couple ounces of Kombucha into the glass first. Full-strength Kombucha is pretty strong, potent, tart, sour, vinegar-y, but diluted in this way (about 1 part strong Kombucha, 10 parts or so water), it’s a quite tasty way to flavor your water. Because it’s in the brewpot with cultures, it’s not flavored with cranberries or any of the other yummies that you can bottle the brew with, but it saves bottling time, cleanup, etc. And it’s so dang good for you!

  11. sunset Says:

    Can I drink Kombucha at night? Also can I open my synergy bottle and drink 1/2 of it and save the second half the next day in the refrigerator?

  12. Amberlynn Says:

    It seems that there is quite a bit of conflicting information regarding whether Kombucha inhibits or feeds candida in the body. Where can I get solid info regarding this. I just purchased a continuous brewing system but I’m a little nervous about drinking Kombucha on a regular basis.

    Embarrassed to say this (but since it is anonymous), I just stopped taking (2 days ago) antibiotics (for my complection) and birth control hormones (called Nuvaring). As a result, I am currently trying to recover from a yeast infection. Recently, I’ve also been drinking a lot of Kombucha (Synergy brand). I think that I passed on the infection to my fiance and I’m really mad at myself for being so stupid and careless with my (and his) health. Any advice/suggestions?

    Thanks.

    • Patrick Says:

      Hello1 if you google Gunther Frank and Candida, There’s a good article. He’s quite an expert re KT. His book is REALLY thorough.Hope this helps.
      Patrick

  13. Thea Says:

    To the person above, if you have an infection that you are worried about, SEE A DOCTOR. You cannot trust the advice of a crowd of strangers on the Internet. Even if we were all doctors posting here, no one would be able to give responsible medical advice without actually examining you and your symptoms.

    That said, it’s my understanding that we need a balance of good bacteria in our guts and orifices. The bacteria maintain homeostasis by eating excess yeast. It sounds like your antibiotics wiped out the bacteria that you need. The probiotics in kombucha and yogurt should help restore the balance so that the good bacteria can go back to keeping the yeast in check.

  14. Anonymous Says:

    I drink Kombucha in the morning and it helps get me started and feeling positive for the day.
    I also drink it before going to bed at night and it does just the opposite. It puts me right to sleep before I have time to snuggle down and feel myself dozing off.
    The next thing I know, I am waking up.
    Amazing !

  15. Jael Says:

    I have been drinking Kombucha for 8 months now. After stopping to use plastic bottles to store it in the fridge, and now using glass bottles, I feel even more of an effect. First it balanced my blood sugar, so I did not feel that I had to have chocolate all the time or something similar, and now I am using it to loose weight. I have been drinking about a liter pr day, and herbal teas and improved my diet, and lost about 9 kilos in two months. I have a lot more to loose, but this is a nice start. I no longer suffer from heartburn and sleep much better. I can’t do without it. Thanks Dave for all that you do – great movies and tips!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers