Organic Kombucha

Kombucha Tea, Cultures, Benefits and Hazards

One too many drinks plus one kombucha equals a pleasant surprise. October 2, 2007

Filed under: kombucha,Kombucha Benefits — yumv @ 6:47 pm

Vanessa: Day 2.

Here’s just a bit about my relationship with kombucha: I like it! I love the taste, and the fizziness, and the way it feels on my stomach when I wake up. I drink it first thing, then go for a walk, then have my breakfast. Since it’s only my second official day of the “challenge” I don’t have much to report in the way of changes. Nothing physical is happening yet. I’m still squidgey and (prepare yourself for TMI) my poop still sinks. (Yes, that was meant to say “sinks” not “stinks”). Apparently, healthy poop floats. [/TMI]

But– here’s a benefit. On Sunday, a certain girl… we’ll call her “Ganessa”… may or may not have had too much champagne. (Ok, she definitely had too much.) But, upon returning home, she drank a full glass of kombucha. And the next day– NO HANGOVER! I swear I’m not making this up. Hellooooo gorgeous.

 

2 Responses to “One too many drinks plus one kombucha equals a pleasant surprise.”

  1. DJK Says:

    That’s funny shit, pun intended… Hey Ganessa….you’re hot….and my poo sinks.

    πŸ˜‰

  2. Jesse McRae Says:

    I’m 65 years old now, and I brewed Kombucha for about 18 months in the early 90s and loved it. Been experiencing a “plethora” of health issues these last few years. I had an extra thirty bucks about two months ago and invested it in “store bought” Kombucha (on sale for only $3.00 per bottle((!!!!! )) and drank one every day for 10 days. By the 6th day or so I noticed that I wasn’t craving sugar, salt, fat etc. I was feeling mentally clearer and physically lighter than I had in some time. The feeling of being full (like carrying half a turkey in my abdomen) even without eating anything was gone.

    So I went on line to find out where I could get this stuff and start brewing my own; no way could I maintain that 3 to 4 dollar a day habit.

    That’s where I found this website. After a lot of research (actually 15 minutes of thinking about it over a cup of green tea) I called the company to ask some specific questions. Lo and behold, a couple of days later, about 9:30 PM cdt, I get a call from the man himself: Dave, the King of Kombucha.

    Now the reason I mentioned that I’m 65 is that I grew up in an era where business was done face to face, often with only a nod or a hand shake to seal the deal. And I miss that way of doing business a lot. So when I realized that it was really Dave, and that he really knew what he was talking about, and that he was really working late (7:30 California time) and that he really wanted to help me, I was thrilled. Dave went out of his way to answer my questions and set my mind at ease, making sure that I felt I’d made the right decision about the kit I wanted to order etc.

    So I placed my order that night and a few days later I received my stuff. I immediately cleaned the porcelain brewer/storage unit and made my first batch of Kombucha. Okay – I used two tablespoons of tea per litre instead of per gallon that first time, so the first batch took a while to brew (and it’s a little on the “buzzy” side for a guy who can’t take much caffiene), but it actually tastes very good, and I’ve been drinking a glass a day since the fifth day. This morning (7th day) I set about bottling what I had left, and brewing my second batch.

    So – I’m excited about this whole Kombucha thing, and I’m going to report back every once in a while with any health benefits etc. that I notice. Meanwhile, and I say this as someone who doesn’t write a lot of testimonials, I’m confident that the service I need, along with the passion for Kombucha, are there for me in a real and genuine way. And at a time when “Customer Service” means an exhausting two hour phone tree journey with people who couldn’t give a flip for me or my problem, as well as a lesson in ESL, the level of committment and service I’ve received so for from Dave and his company is as refreshing as . . . well, as refreshing as Kombucha tea.

    Thanks for everything Dave.

    Jesse

    I’m going to


Leave a Reply

