Organic Kombucha

Kombucha Tea, Cultures, Benefits and Hazards

ugly is the new hot November 16, 2007

Filed under: vanessa — yumv @ 8:54 pm

Kombucha may taste like a beautiful lady, but she sure don’t look pretty. When you got your scoby, it probably looked like a pretty little biscuit. Like this: scoby cultures

But now, it looks like a MONSTER ! The new, pancake like culture has spread itself out. Big Scoby!

and this is a GOOD thing!

 

2 Responses to “ugly is the new hot”

  1. Gabi Says:

    Good evening,

    I just have a quick question for all you kombucha gurus. I’m originally from the Czech Republic so I started drinking Kombucha before it became popular in the USA, but I recently started brewing my own. I ordered mu supplies from Happy Herbalist and it all came really fast and my first brew was great but ever since then my KT tastes like there is something wrong with it and it’s cloudy. Can someone help me, please? Also, can I start over and substitute the starter with vinegar?

  2. Laura Says:

    Hey,
    I’m not sure if this is a way to ask a question but I figured I try. I wanted to know how to give my dog kombucha. Do I give him the tea or can I give him some of the scoby.

    I have one more question,
    do I get rid of the mother once the new scoby is well formed or do I cut some of the scoby away or do I leave it alone? How long can a scoby grow? forever

    lots of questions, Laura


Leave a Reply

