Organic Kombucha

Kombucha Tea, Cultures, Benefits and Hazards

Kombucha & Me November 24, 2007

Filed under: kombucha,Kombucha Benefits,vanessa — yumv @ 6:08 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Hey guys! Well, recently reader Mike (hi Mike!) commented and asked a question that I thought would be best answered in its own blog, rather than on the comments board.

Mike: I’m MUCH more interested in what effects the Kombucha is having on your overall health and well-being. Do you feel any differently? Are you noticing any benefits which you believe are related to the Kombucha?

I’m sure most of you wonder and are interested in the same thing. It’s a bit hard for me to answer, because I didn’t approach kombucha with one of the many needs (i.e for candidaet cetera), so it’s not quite cause and effect for me.

What I have noticed:

Clearer skin (but first I had a mini-breakout, probably due to my body’s detoxing)

Better digestion, and more normal belly issues all around

When I drink it with a meal, I have less propensity to over-eat.

When I drink it with or after an alcoholic beverage, I feel better that day and the next day.

I’ve used the culture on my hair as shampoo (noticeably softer hair) on my skin (dried up some acne) wrapped up with a cut (the cut didn’t get infected and did heal quickly.)

Hope these little things I’ve noticed help. I’d love to hear your successes, attempts, and wish-list for kombucha!

xo

v

 

14 Responses to “Kombucha & Me”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Hi Vanessa,
    I was so happy to read all that you wrote about Kombucha. Just this morning I was wondering how to find out what else K-Tea can be used for besides drinking.I am thrilled to know and anxious to try it on my skin and hair.
    Can you tell me if this is normal…I have been brewing in a 4 qt bowl and my scoby has grown as big as the bowl. It has gotten about 1/4 in. thick and when I lift it off the new baby scoby is just lying there. I was first told I would have to peel it away.
    Thanks for the tips.
    Sharon

  2. yumv Says:

    Hi Sharon! No worries– the culture will grow out to the size of the bowl, and it will be ugly! It does, indeed grow over your original culture. when it gets too big, you can take out some, and start anew. See my post “Ugly is the new Hot” for more on what they look like!

  3. SUZANNE Says:

    HI, VANESSA,
    WHEN I READ THAT THE TEA HELPED CLEAR SOME ACNE, I THOUGHT I WOULD SHARE THAT I USED AN ACTUAL PIECE OF THE CULTURE ON A FRIEND’S INFLAMED INGROWN TOENAIL. HE EXPERIENCED PAIN RELIEF AFTER ABOUT 20 MINUTES, AND STATED THAT THE CULTURE SEEMED TO HAVE DRAWN OUT THE INFECTION, REDUCING SWELLING & DISCOMFORT. WE HAVE SINCE TRIED IT ON VARIOUS SKIN LACERATIONS AND CAN AGREE THAT THE INCIDENCE OF INFECTION IS REDUCED AND HEALING SEEMS TO SPEED UP.
    THANKS.
    SUZANNE

  4. Heather Says:

    Hello! Great post! I drank kombucha last night at the New Year’s Eve party and I feel so much better for it! It really does help you to not drink as much and not feel as bad afterward!

  5. Joe Says:

    I started to drink Kombucha tea. I can not drink as much alcohol that I used. Three Friday’s ago it was a bottle of wine and I was toast and went straight to bed. Two Firday’s ago it was just 2 glasses of wine and I was toast.

    Joe

  6. Vinny Says:

    i guess i am confused about how to make it… brew some tea…put the culture and the cool tea in a gallon glass jar and cover? Oh and sugar the tesa first eait about 2 weeks???

    Is that all???

  7. Mary Says:

    I have been drinking my tea for 2 weeks now. After just one week I lost 6 pounds. When I first started I had a Herpes Simplex on my lower lip. With me Herpes is always good for a minimum of 7-10 days.In just 2 days it was gone (completely) I’ve never had it heal this quickly.
    I checked it out with my Doctor and She said to keep right on drinking it.

  8. victoria Says:

    I am a new kombucha drinker.I have been buying it ,is it complicated to brew your own.i am afraid in this heat it may get moldy.I was also wondering how does it make you lose weight?I am feeling great and craving this drink so much.Is it possible to drink to much and how much are you guys drinking?look forward to hearing from you.

  9. john cook Says:

    i am going back on the tea it was over 20 yrs. since then vi have gotteen sugar diabetes and parkinson.do i make it sugar free and if so how?iam on medication how does that work?am going to start soon so anybody out there,ican use the advice so and see if this will heal or kill johncook#gci.net

  10. john cook Says:

    this is john how do i get answer

  11. Gene Says:

    I have recently purchased the delux brewing kit and I am enjoying my Kombucha every day. I have brewed and drank Kombucha two different times in the past 15 years and each time it has eliminated the arthritic pain in my shoulders. Both times I quit drinking the tea was because the symtoms completely went away. Now, at age 61, the pain had come back, so I have started all over again. The brewing system works great! In the first 30 days of enjoying Kombucha, my pain level is about 40%. In the past, it has taken about 45 days for the pain to completely subside.

    I do have some questions. In the kit that I ordered, I received a small bottle of vinegar (I think) with an eye dropper in it, and some test strips. I have not heard any discussion about these two items.

    1. What do the test strips tell you, and what color should they be when you test your tea?

    2. Since I already use Organic Apple Cider Vinegar, is the small bottle of vinegar necessary?

  12. Marianne Says:

    Hi,
    I bought the same brewing system. I thought the little bottle with the eyedropper in it was concentrated KT. I put 100 drops into the first batch I made (Jan 2009) to kick start my brew. I did the same thing with the second batch. Now, I follow Dave’s advice and after my new batch of sweet tea is cooled and at room temperature, I add it to the container. You pour the sweet tea on top of the SCOBY and then I take about 1/4 cup from the spigot and pour that on top of the SCOBY. Since I started doing this my final brew has more fizz, before bottling and my final product is always delicious. I don’t use the strips although I would if I wasn’t getting this quality of KT. I must be doing something right because my KT is incredible. I turn people on to it all the time and everyone loves it. If taste is an issue, which it is not for me, add some fresh ginger (cut up into little chunks after peeling off skin). Ginger KT is incredible tasting. I add all sorts of stuff at the bottling stage-ginger, dried blueberries, cranberries and/or goji berries, lemon or lime peel (one or two thin slices per 1 quart bottle. And speaking of bottling, I found a vodka called 360 and the bottle is perfect for bottling KT. It has a metal clip on top (like Grolsch beer) with a washer and stopper top. I make about 6 bottles of KT per week, so I had to have a party to get enough bottles, which proved to be a very fun way to get these bottles empty in time for my next batch.

    ============= DAVE ==========================================

    MARIAINNE STOP GIVING AWAY THE SECRETES ON THE VIDEO 😉 NEXT TIME YOU SPILL THE BEANS I WILL BE EXPECTING A BOTTLE OF THAT 360 PERSONALLY !!
    SO GLAD THE BREWING IS GOING FANTASTICO -TO EVERYONE ELSE YOU CAN NOW GET THESE LONGEVITY VIDEOS WITH OUR DELUXE BREWER http://getkombucha.com/porcelain.html

  13. Rebecca Says:

    I am just curious what it means if your baby culture sinks to the bottom mid-brew.

    Thx

  14. mirinda Says:

    Can anyone assist: I ferment for 15 days then place into bottles with 1/2 cup favorite juice. Once capped tightly I let it set for an additional 15 days for fermenting and to build the fizzy. (I prefer lots of fizz) Unfortunately my Kombucha does not fizz at all. (Not even a little) Can anyone tell me why I can not get a fizz from my drink? 30 days should be long enough to work something up. How to get the fizz without obtaining a more vinegar flavor. I flavored my Kombucha with OJ to see it that would jump start the fizz (tasted great) but not fizz.


Leave a Reply

