Organic Kombucha

Kombucha Tea, Cultures, Benefits and Hazards

The Kombucha Hangover cure! January 24, 2009

Filed under: vanessa — dlindy2730 @ 6:16 am
Tags: , , , ,

I will be the first person to admit the sometimes my idea of a healthy lifestyle conflicts with the reality of my lifestyle…make sense? Maybe not, so I’ll come out and say it, I like to drink sometimes. The worst part about drinking is the hangovers. I can remember two times specifically when I was so hung over and dehydrated that I could literally not move, I would drink water and throw it up. I was trying every remedy my weak mind could think of until my girlfriend came to the rescue with some kombucha. Kombucha tea for hangovers! I had heard about this but was in no state to actually remember, and no it was not an instant cure but oh my god did I ever feel a lot better after drinking kombucha. Since then every time I drink heavily which is really not that often, I drink kombucha before I go to bed and I hardly ever get hang overs. I use it as more of a preventative measure (don’t forget to drink lots of water while drinking too!). What made me think of the idea for this post was that last weekend I actually made a vodka and kombucha! This is genius people!

 

5 Responses to “The Kombucha Hangover cure!”

  1. Barry Says:

    One of the reasons for drinking K-tea is for the nutrient effect of the live culture and vitamins, especially the B’s. It might be possible that by adding alcohol, you may be negating the active organisms and changing the potency of the vitamins.

  2. Barry Says:

    The reduced hangover effect was probably a result of the vitamin B complex and the anti-oxidants. However, one of the reasons for drinking K-tea is for the live, micronutrients which aid digestion. The addtion of alcohol may negate and inactivate the micronutrients

  3. ChrisSin Says:

    You know if you drank homebrew / really good beer or wine, you wont get a hangover either. It has a lot of the same B vitamins as Kombucha :-) with all of the unfiltered yeasts

  4. Mike Says:

    I would consider that a health drink

  5. Susan Says:

    That is one way to get my husband to drink Kombucha! With the vodka, of course. Thinking maybe could come up with a Mojita Kombucha – nice for a end of Summer drink!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers