Organic Kombucha

Kombucha Tea, Cultures, Benefits and Hazards

Drinking Kombucha for Lactose intolerance April 6, 2009

Filed under: Kombucha Benefits,sean — kombuchasean @ 12:24 pm
Tags: , ,

Well I can only speak from my personal experience as follows; Drinking Kombucha has all but wiped out my lactose intolerance symptoms. Does that mean I’m not lactose intolerant anymore? No not at all but I no longer take lactaid supplements and avoid pizza! I drink Kombucha pretty regularly which has lead to my knew found ability to digest lactose products much better.

So what causes lactose intolerance anyway?
Well from my understanding it is a lactase deficiency, what exactly does that mean…I’m no scientist=I do not have any clue.
But what I do know is the Kombucha does contain active cultures which combat the effects of lactose intolerance, so by drinking it regularly I can enjoy all the milk, and pizza I want (although that still may not be such a great idea). I wonder what a kombucha pizza would taste like? My guess: Not very good. I read somewhere that by drinking Kombucha 30 minutes before consuming dairy products you should be covered but that is simply not the case for me as I am not careful at all anymore, as long as I have enjoyed Kombucha tea throughout the week I am fine.

I have not been able to find a ton of information on lactose intolerance and Kombucha, what have you guys heard? The lactose intolerance community deserves to know!

 

5 Responses to “Drinking Kombucha for Lactose intolerance”

  1. edieb Says:

    Kombucha did seem to help with my lactose intolerance, but then I developed a bladder infection. I hadn’t had one in a while, so I wandered if kombucha could have any thing to do with it.
    Has anyone else had this problem? I would appreciate any helpful comments.
    Thanks,
    Edie

  2. Janis Says:

    I developed a bladder infection after 3 months of drinking it daily.
    I think it is because I didn’t drink enough water with it.The tea is very dehydrating so you have to make sure you drink your water.

  3. Dana Says:

    Lactase is the enzyme that breaks down lactose. Adult human beings for the most part don’t produce a lot of it because we’re not baby mammals anymore, although certain populations appear to be able to produce lactase into adulthood.

    Historically and traditionally, dairy-consuming cultures got around the lack of lactase by fermenting their dairy. This is where yogurt, kefir, and cheese come from. If you stick with dairy products that have had most or all of the lactose removed from or digested (by bacteria) out of them, you shouldn’t get reactions to begin with.

    I’m not sure why kombucha would decrease lactose sensitivity. I mean, the tea contains lactic acid, but that’s not the same as lactase. But science doesn’t understand all this stuff. Who knows, maybe someday they’ll explain it.

  4. victoria Says:

    I got rid of my lactose intolerance by drinking raw milk and cream. I also eat fermented dairy products on a regular basis. I didn’t know kombucha could help though.


Leave a Reply

