Organic Kombucha

Kombucha Tea, Cultures, Benefits and Hazards

Ask kombucha Dave #10 January 6, 2010

Filed under: Make Kombucha — dlindy2730 @ 2:31 pm
Tags: , , ,

QUESTION:

Hi Dave,

I am getting very vinegary kombucha even after 5 days of brewing.

The amount of tea left under the spigot level must be very sour ( I have been brewing for 4-5 months now).

I now use 1 teaspoon of tea in each tea bag (2 teaspoons total) and I boil them in 1-1.5 gallons of water.

Do you call starter tea the brewed tea under the spigot level?

What do I do?

Thanks!
Marylene

ANSWER:

Hi Marylene,

I would use a little more tea than 2 teaspoons… I would suggest using twice that amount or at least 3 teaspoon when brewing up 1.5 gallons.

If you want your tea less vinegary here are a few options…

1. Use a little less starter tea

2. Reset your starter tea by replacing it with a few commercial bottles of store bought kombucha tea (from a health benefit perspective you will loose out on some of the unique organic acids that only begin to form after day 20 of brewing.. hence the benefits of continuously brewing.. however the stuff has to taste good to you otherwise what’s the point right!). so when things get out of hand this will help you get back to normal.

3. Try straining your starter tea with a cheese cloth or any other type of mesh strainer.. (oil strainer work great too). Than once you have the sediments mostly strained out you can use this new strained starter tea in with your new sweet tea.

4. If you are using a heat mat you might want to cu back and actually lower the temp by using the heat mat only at night when the temp drops or placing it on the bottom of your brewer instead of the wrap around technique. A longer brew time with mellow out the taste.

5. Finally when you add you fresh sweet tea to start a new batch pour some of the starter tea on top to help evenly mix your brew from the get go.

Happy Brewin’,
Dave

PS: And yes, you got it! Starter tea is the brewed tea under the spigot level. 🙂

 

7 Responses to “Ask kombucha Dave #10”

  1. Charleen Says:

    wow that must be our problem. My husband has sooo much indigestion after drinking the tea. and it is very vinegary. I started the batch yesterday with alot less than normally but still more than 3 teaspoons. The directios we were given from a friend said to use 4 ounces but I have always used about 3 cups when brewing a new 1 gallon batch. I will have to use even less next time to see if that helps. I also strained all of it even the starter tea.

  2. Jill Says:

    I had a problem with very vinegary tea after only 5 days of brewing over the summer. In Hawaii it is always warm, but the summers are even warmer! Once the weather cooled down I was able to bottle after 6 days (or 7) and the kombucha tasted perfect. For me, the weather temp. has a lot to do with it.

  3. Please Help!

    I have been making kombucha tea for a while now, with no problems.
    Lately, I have had some. My tea has been fermenting for about a week, and it does’nt seem fermented at all.
    When making this batch, I bought a warming mat to use in the cold winter months here. I put a paper towel on the mat so the tea never touches the mat
    The weather is between 20-50.The weather in Texas can be crazy, but I thought that the heating mat was an ok temp.
    The mushroom that started is not thick like it used to be either.
    thanks for your reply, Sheila

  4. Laurie Says:

    Hi!
    I have been brewing K-tea for a while too but I have a question. I want to get the “fizz” when I bottle my tea. I have been using plastic bottles recycled from sport drinks but I would like to change to a reusable glass bottle. What kind of bottles do you use and how do you “cap” them? I will be trying canning jars next but would eventually like glass bottles, if there is one out there 🙂
    Thanks!
    Laurie

  5. Sarah Says:

    I use glass bottles from store bought Kombucha. My friends save theirs for me too. I run them through the dishwasher and then they work great. Unlike canning, you are not doing anything to make the seal, the tea does all the work. I find that if I bottle with a little sweet still left, and wait the full 7 days from bottling to drinking, I have bubbles…the sweeter it is at bottling the more bubbles I get at 7-10 days after…. just be careful, too much bubbles can be a big mess 😉

  6. Jullia Kim Says:

    Hi I left my cap on my glass jar while it was brewing kombucha for about 6 days and I’m wondering if the lack of oxygen killed my scoby?

  7. Richard Kath Says:

    Dave, Can I use a 2 1/2 gal plastic container to brew kombucha or does it have to be glass?


Leave a Reply

